DALMAC Fund Committee History

The DALMAC Fund was established in 1975 by the DALMAC Agreement between Dick Allen and the Tri-County Bicycle Association (TCBA) of Lansing. DALMAC stand for <u>Dick Allen Lansing to Mackinaw.</u>

Included in the DALMAC Agreement was the creation of the DALMAC Fund. The DALMAC Fund was established to promote bicycling in Michigan.

Dick Allen's original purpose for riding from Lansing to Mackinaw went far beyond just a recreational ride. He wanted to bring the fun and health benefits of bicycling to all who would participate and advance Michigan's prospects for active, outdoor bicycle tourism. He also wanted to demonstrate that the bicycle is a legitimate means of transportation that can share the road with motor vehicles.

The first DALMAC Fund use was in 1976. Funds were used to buy a bicycle for St. Vincent Children's Home in Lansing.

The first significant expenditure of DALMAC Fund money started in April, 1978, when TCBA stated a statewide newsletter, initially called the Michigan League. The publication's initial mailing list was made up of DALMAC riders, TCBA members, and members of the League of American Wheelmen in Michigan. The League of American Wheelmen is now called the League of American Bicyclists. The publication was renamed the Michigan Bicyclist in 1981.

The Michigan Bicyclist newsletter was transferred to the League of Michigan Bicyclists in 1983 and officially became their newsletter. The DALMAC Fund stopped financing the Michigan Bicyclist newsletter when it because the League of Michigan Bicyclists' newsletter.

1985 marked the creation of the DALMAC Fund committee. Systematic grant records begin with the Committee's creation. The committee was formed to more effectively dispense money, which had been growing rapidly since 1981 because of DALMAC's increased

DALMAC Fund Committee History

ridership under the management of Events Director Kim Wilcox. 1981 saw the DALMAC ridership double with the use of the east and west routes. The west route was created by Bob Gibbs in 1980. Prior to 1980, the route went up the east side of the state. Only one route per year was used prior to 1981.

The charter members of the DALMAC Fund committee were Brint Donalson, chairman, Rebecca Baughan, Kim Wilcox, Steven Leiby, and Tom Hardenbergh. Kim Wilcox left the committee in 1991 and Tom Martin took his place. After Brint's untimely death in 1995, Bob Hollenshead joined the committee.

Tom Hardenbergh left the committee at the end of 2008. Arnie Johnson joined the committee in 2009.

Arnie Johnson left the committee in 2014 and was replaced by Lenny Provencher.

Tom Martin resigned from the committee in 2015 and shortly thereafter died from cancer. Adreah Leffew replaced Tom.

The committee's first chairman was Brint Donalson, who served from 1985 to 1991. Steven Leiby took over in 1992 and served as chair until 1994. Tom Hardenbergh took over the chairmanship in 1995 and served until 2008. Steven Leiby returned as chair in 2009.